The BCIA has announced the launch of the 2023 BCIA Awards which will take place on Thursday 4th May 2023 at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole.

The biggest and best Awards in the building controls and BEMS industry, the BCIA Awards recognise innovation, product development, project delivery and great training in the building controls sector. Awards entries can now be entered using the online entry system which allows you to start, edit, view and download your entry before submitting it. The closing date for entries is Thursday 19th January 2023.

There are nine different categories available to enter, with a brand new Apprentice of the Year Award category.

Building Controls and BEMS Installer of the Year

Awarded in recognition of the building controls and/or Building Energy Management System (BEMS) installer which demonstrates professionalism, commitment and understanding of the needs of clients.

Engineer of the Year

This award is open to individuals working for controls installers, manufacturers, consulting engineers or FM companies who best demonstrate engineering excellence in controls and BEMS.

Young Engineer of the Year

Awarded to the individual aged 35 years or under who best demonstrates the achievements gained through successful participation in the BCIA Technical Training Programme and other building controls educational programmes.

Apprentice of the Year

Awarded to the individual who best demonstrates the achievements gained through successful participation in an approved Building Energy Management Systems (BEMS) or building controls Apprenticeship.

Energy Management Award

Awarded to a manufacturer, installer or team in recognition of a project which demonstrates how building controls and/or BEMS have been applied to increase energy efficiency in a building or building complex.

Best Service & Maintenance Provider

Awarded to the company which best demonstrates outstanding levels of customer care in the provision of long-term service and maintenance contracts for Building Energy Management Systems (BEMS) and building controls.

Technical Innovation of the Year – Products

Awarded to the most innovative building controls/BEMS product development introduced in the last 12 months.

Technical Innovation of the Year – Projects

Awarded to the project installer/team which best demonstrates innovation and the deployment of smart technology to create a sustainable building/complex.

Contribution to Training Award

Awarded to the individual, company or organisation that has contributed to training on the installation, design and/or use of building controls and BEMS.

Graeme Rees, President of the BCIA, said: “This year’s BCIA Awards was a fantastic occasion and I was very proud to make my first President’s speech. We have added a new category this year, with the Apprentice of the Year Award highlighting the value and importance the BCIA places on new talent entering the building controls sector.”

He added: “I am sure everybody in the industry is looking forward to celebrating the best innovation and talent in the business and I am confident we will see some very strong entries once again.”